Sunil Bhargava has joined new central information commission

My Times Today.The government has appointed Sudhir Bhargava as new Chief Information Commissioner  along with four new Information Commissioners in the Central Information Commission which had been functioning with just three of them as against a sanctioned strength of 11, including the Chief Information Commissioner.

Highly placed sources said Bhargava, who is Information Commissioner in the CIC, has been appointed as new chief of the panel.

President Ram Nath Kovind has approved the appointment of former IFS officer Yashwardhan Kumar Sinha, former IRS officer Vanaja N Sarna, former IAS Neeraj Kumar Gupta and former Law Secretary Suresh Chandra as Information Commissioners in the Central Information Commission, a government order accessed.

Sinha is a 1981-batch Indian Foreign Service officer who was the High Commissioner of India in the United Kingdom.

An alumnus of St Michael’s High School in Patna and St Stephen’s College in Delhi, Sinha had served a number of important postings in the Ministry of External Affairs including the crucial Pakistan-Afghanistan-Iran Division, which he headed for four years as Additional Secretary.

The only woman in the CIC will be Sarna, a 1980-batch Indian Revenue Service officer, who was the Chief of Central Board of Excise and Customs.

You may also like...

Right Menu Icon